Epsom Rowing Season 2012-13 Prizegiving

posted 20 May 2013, 15:04 by Allan Moyle   [ updated 21 May 2013, 15:44 ]
Last Sunday the Epsom Girls Grammar School Rowing Club celebrated its hugely successful 2012/13 season with its annual prize giving.  The event was very well attended and we welcomed back many of the clubs previous office holders, rowing families and rowers including current NZ  Representative Kayla Pratt to share in the celebration.  The event was also supported by representatives from both Auckland Rowing Club and one of our shed-mate schools, Pukekohe High School.   

This year saw 2 new awards added to the annual prize list.  Coach John Squires donated the John Squires Trophy for the Most Improved Rower (non-Novice) - an important category not previously recognised  that epitomises both John's commitment as a coach to pursuing improvement and that for all our rowers success can only come from ongoing improvement.  The second award  is the Broken Oar Award to recognise the person(s) responsible for the causing most impressive damage over the course of season.  

Season 2012/13 Epsom Rowing Prize winners were as follows:   

Abbot Cup - Club Captain: Sara Smith  

Toilet Seat - Camp Fun Race: Francesca Canestri, Charlotte Spence, Rachel MacLachlan, Isobella Rhodes and Madeline Allen (Cox)  

Short Oar (Souvenir Blade) for Outstanding Coxswain: Alexandra Littlewood 

Clive Williams Friendship Trophy: Annabel Childs

2K Erg 2011/12 Best Time Plaque: Lexi Kerr; Time - 7:23

Red Williamson Memorial Trophy For Most Improved Novice: Raina Marshall

Jon Squires Trophy for Most Improved Rower (Non Novice) : Isobella Rhodes

Catriona McGregor Cup for Under 15 Rower of the Year: Charlotte Spence 

School Acknowledgement of Coaches: Tony Russell, Sam Henry, Jon Squires, Caroline Delong, Ash Smith, Grader Howells, Tessa Mitchelson and Kate Tidbury 

Legendary Supporters Presentation By Committee: Wendy and Ash Smith

The Broken Oar Award for most Impressive Damage of the Season : Ash Smith

Under 16 Rower of the Year Cup: Charlotte Riley 

Most successful Crew over the Season Shield: Novice 8 -  Raina Marshall (stroke), Sarah L'Amie, Phoebe Allen, Madeline Allen,  Annabel Childs, Rachel MacLachlan, Chanelle Jones, Charlotte Riley,  Alexandra Littlewood (cox)

Kiri Sutherland Under 17 Rower of the Year Cup: Lexi Kerr

Amelia Naish Under 18 Rower of the Year Cup: Lucy Jonas 

Harrison Family Cup for Club Rower of the Year: Sarah Smith 

Long Service Award For those Who Complete 4 Seasons Rowing With EGGS: Sarah Smith, Lexi Kerr and Lucy Jonas

White/Burgess Cup For The Most Successful Girls Crew At Championship (Maadi Cup ) Regatta: Under 17 2X Gold Medalists,  Lexi Kerr & Sarah Smith.

End of an Era  - Season 2012/13 Long Service Recipients, Lucy Jonas, Sara Smith & Lexi Kerr